Whitney Miller’s Ghoulicious Halloween Party Drinks

When I was a kid, Halloween was always my dad’s favorite time, because he would haul my sisters and me in the back of his pickup truck from house to house trick-or-treating. He’d probably still do that if we let him! But now I entertain at home for Halloween — and when I do that, I love to set up stations for my guests to create their own food or drinks. It’s a great way to serve grits, nachos or hot chocolate. So why not do the same for Halloween party drinks?

Halloween drinks

For these spooky sippers, we’ll need green cotton candy, cocktail cranberries, Grenadine, green tapioca pearls and and sweet and sour gummy worms.

Let’s put a twist on the traditional Shirley Temple with a version that I call the Little Red Riding Hood. I combine lemon-lime soda and cocktail cranberries (instead of maraschino cherries) with the juice in a Stout tumbler from the Entertaining Collection by Tervis.

Halloween drinks

Shrek and the Hulk are two popular green Halloween costumes, so I think it’s only fitting to include a green drink. In a Mint Sprig Stout tumbler, I added lemon-lime soda and topped it with green cotton candy. The cotton candy will add sweetness and of course creates green liquid.

Halloween drinks

Gummy worms just scream Halloween to me. To create a lip-puckering drink, I added sweet and sour gummy worms to already tart lemonade. The gummy worms sink to the bottom of the tumbler, and at the end you’re left with a chewy treat.

Halloween drinks

I don’t like scary, bloody movies — but I’m fascinated by some vampire shows and movies like the Twilight series. Yes, I am one of those girls who read the books and couldn’t wait for the movies to be released. My vampire-inspired beverage is lemon-lime soda, a splash of Grenadine (blood) and green tapioca pearls (creepy vampire eyes).

Halloween drinks

Whitney MillerWhen she was just 22, Whitney Miller won the first U.S. season of the Fox show MasterChef. She is the author of Modern Hospitality: Simple Recipes with Southern Charm. While working on her second cookbook, she frequently travels around the U.S. and as far away as China to conduct cooking demonstrations and culinary classes. For more, visit whitneymiller.net, connect with Whitney MillerH on Facebook and follow her on Twitter @whitneymillerH.