A Lucky Christmas Pickle Martini

Ever since I can remember, I’ve loved pickles. On my burger, alongside my plate of grilled cheese, heck even just straight out of the jar. I can’t get enough! When the pickle jar turned up with a lone pickle, there was only one plausible culprit in the house: me. I buy pickles at Eastern Market almost every weekend (the hot ‘n spicy ones are my jam) and they typically only last through Tuesday. What can I say, the heart wants what the heart wants.

So imagine my surprise and downright giddiness over learning about a lucky Christmas pickle ornament! Here’s the 411 so you’ll be in the know, too: you hide a pickle ornament in your Christmas tree and whoever finds the pickle will have a year of good fortune. Though with all the pickles I’ve eaten, I should be the luckiest girl in the world!

I wanted to create a cocktail to celebrate the fortune-bringing Christmas pickle and after a brainstorm I landed on a dirty pickle martini.

Dirty Pickle Martini 

Ingredients
Gin, 4 ounces
Dill Pickle Juice, 1 ounce
Vermouth, splash
Ice

Dirty-Pickle-Martini-3_900x540

Directions
Fill your Tervis cocktail shaker halfway up with ice. Add the gin, pickle juice and vermouth. Stir (unless you’re James Bond) + strain into a martini glass.

Cheers!

About-Me-Photo

about – DC Girl in Pearls
Hello! I’m Lauren Anne, a twenty something living in DC. I started DC Girl in Pearls in 2011 as a creative outlet for inspiration. I chronicle my personal style for work + weekends along with my kitchen adventures, cocktails to sip, DIYs and things I love. I live on Capitol Hill by way of upstate New York. My personal style is classic and colorful. I love politics, dessert, making lists, confetti, letterpress, a good book and exploring my city. In high school, I was voted “Most Likely To Be The Next Martha Stewart.” And I went to an all-girls school. I think that pretty much sums it all up. Through DC Girl in Pearls, I hope to brighten and inspire you to celebrate + elevate the everyday on a budget.