Enjoy an Annapolis Legend

Forget the lime in the coconut. It’s cold outside. We’re putting the RUM in the coconut.

Over the weekend, back in the good ol’ days of non-Arctic Tundra life, I piled into the car and drove to Annapolis for the day. This was only my second time visiting but I have to say, Annapolis is my kind of town. Having a soft spot for all things nautical and fruity tropical beverages, let’s face it: Annapolis gets me.

It’s also home to Pusser’s Caribbean Grille — Annaoplis’ only true waterfront restaurant – and their famous rum cocktail, the Painkiller. They come in four strengths, so when you order one, do so by number: Painkiller #1, #2, #3 and #4, The number indicates how many parts rum are in the drink.

Inspired by the famous watering hole, and wanting to keep the tropical cocktail train going, I picked up the ingredients for a Pusser’s Painkiller on the way home. Namely, cream of coconut because let’s be honest, who has cream of coconut just lying around their pantry?

Well, now I do. And it’s heaven.

Now let’s numb the winter freeze with a Pusser’s Painkiller!

In a little nod to Annapolis, I picked my anchor Tervis tumbler.

I filled the tumbler with ice and added pineapple juice, the life-changing coconut cream, OJ and the very vital coconut rum. Top the tumbler with the shaker top and shake to combine, strain into glasses.

Drink umbrella is mandatory, people. I cannot stress enough: it’s freezing outside.

So pour yourself a little (or not so little, I’m not here to judge) glass of paradise.

Ingredients
4 parts pineapple juice
1-2 parts coconut rum, depending on your case of the winter blues
1 part cream of coconut (found in the mixers aisle of your local, friendly grocery store)
1 part orange juice

Directions
Fill a shaker with ice and add all ingredients to shaker. Shake to combine and strain into glasses. And as stated above, drink umbrellas are mandatory.

About-Me-Photo
about DC Girl in Pearls

Hello! I’m Lauren Anne, a twenty-something living in DC. I started DC Girl in Pearls in 2011 as a creative outlet for inspiration. I chronicle my personal style for work + weekends along with my kitchen adventures, cocktails to sip, DIYs and things I love. I live on Capitol Hill by way of upstate New York. My personal style is classic and colorful. I love politics, dessert, making lists, confetti, letterpress, a good book and exploring my city. In high school, I was voted “Most Likely To Be The Next Martha Stewart.” And I went to an all-girls school. I think that pretty much sums it all up. Through DC Girl in Pearls, I hope to brighten and inspire you to celebrate + elevate the everyday on a budget.