Cherry Sangria: A Perfect Picnic Sipper

The only good part about snow on Easter? It made me appreciate more than ever DC’s 70 degrees and sunny forecast with more than a chance of seeing cherry blossoms! After what felt like an never-ending winter, spring and sunshine are here.

I can’t wait for the weekend to venture out and see the cherry blossoms! There are a few here and there in my neighborhood but I’ve made peace with the fact that to see the blossoms in all their glory, I have to brave the crowds and go to the National Mall.

You know what helps buck up the gumption to handle a large crowd? Sangria.

So let’s bottle up the sunshine and beautiful blossoms into a cherry sangria, shall we?

This cherry sangria is practically liquid spring!! Crisp, tart cherry juice mixed with tart rosé topped with a splash of lime tonic + garnished with orange slices. I told you, it’s like spring but in sangria form.

Which is the very best form. Except for maybe taco form.

Cherry Blossom-Sangria

Ingredients
1 bottle chilled rosé wine
16oz cherry juice
1 cup lime tonic
Orange slices
Frozen cherries

Directions
Add all ingredients into a pitcher and stir to combine. The frozen cherries are wonderful to keep your sangria chilled and you KNOW I love a good theme when it comes to cocktails 😉

 

About-Me-Photoabout DC Girl in Pearls

Hello! I’m Lauren Anne, a twenty-something living in DC. I started DC Girl in Pearls in 2011 as a creative outlet for inspiration. I chronicle my personal style for work + weekends along with my kitchen adventures, cocktails to sip, DIYs and things I love. I live on Capitol Hill by way of upstate New York. My personal style is classic and colorful. I love politics, dessert, making lists, confetti, letterpress, a good book and exploring my city. In high school, I was voted “Most Likely To Be The Next Martha Stewart.” And I went to an all-girls school. I think that pretty much sums it all up. ThroughDC Girl in Pearls, I hope to brighten and inspire you to celebrate + elevate the everyday on a budget.