Dip into the Hoopla

As we traverse into the heart of March Madness, it’s best to be prepared. A lot is going to happen in the next three weeks: upsets; heart breakers; tears; cheers; big wins; celebrations; and parties.

Oh, and a lot of superstition. At least in my house.

When my team is playing, I wear the same beat-up college t-shirt I’ve worn for every tournament game since 1999; and the opponent’s team colors are banned while the game is on. All of my – as well as my guests’ – drinkware is covered in my alma mater’s logos and colors.  That kind of ju-ju has to work (Come on Final Four!).

The craziness doesn’t stop there.  The food at my March Madness get-togethers has to feature at least one item based upon the host city’s menu.  I believe if I respect the host city, my team will be treated well while visiting. Granted, it’s hard to find a local dish for every host city. What cuisine is Dayton famous for? Cincinnati Five-Way Chili will do in a pinch..

This year’s Final Four is in Houston, Texas. So hopefully, I’ll need to have a Texas-inspired dish ready for that first weekend in April while watching the Final Four. and dare I say, the Final. I’d serve up Tex-Mex, but it’s not the 90s. What to cook? What to cook?

Simple. Texas Trash Dip.

Don’t let the name fool you. It’s really good. A slam-dunk, if you will. If Dickie V was calling play-by-play on this dip, it’d be a “Dipper Dandy, baby!” or a “DIP-sy Do DUNK-a-roo!”

Mix some up and dip in!

Texas Trash Dip
1 cup Sour Cream
8oz Cream Cheese
1 packet Taco Seasoning
2 cups cheddar cheese
2 cups Monterey Jack cheese
32oz refried beans

Preheat oven to 350°.

In large bowl, combine sour cream and cream cheese.
Mix in refried beans.
Mix in taco seasoning.

Coat a 9×13 baking dish with cooking spray.
Spread bean mixture evenly in dish.
Top with cheese.
Bake 25-30 minutes.

If desired, garnish with sliced green onions, olives or jalapeños.

Texas Trash Dip
Serve warm with your favorite corn or tortilla chips.
Dip away.
Watch your team win.

Cheers.

PJ Butland